Faculty of Science / Naturvetenskapliga fakulteten >
Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology / Institutionen för kemi och molekylärbiologi (2012-) >
Doctoral Theses / Doktorsavhandlingar Institutionen för kemi och molekylärbiologi >

Structural and Functional Studies of Membrane Proteins For Future Development of Antimicrobial Drugs

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:

Files in This Item:

File Description SizeFormat
gupea_2077_58373_1.pdfThesis frame9897KbAdobe PDF
gupea_2077_58373_2.pdfSpikblad3989KbAdobe PDF
gupea_2077_58373_3.pdfOmslag2586KbAdobe PDF
Title: Structural and Functional Studies of Membrane Proteins For Future Development of Antimicrobial Drugs
Authors: Dunevall, Elin
Issue Date: 10-Jan-2019
University: University of Gothenburg. Faculty of Science
Institution: Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology ; Institutionen för kemi och molekylärbiologi
Parts of work: Paper I: Elin Dunevall, Elin Claesson, Weixiao Y. Wahlgren, Rachel A. North, Aviv Paz, Rhawnie Caing-Carlsson, Parveen Goyal, Anne Farewell, Jeff Abramson, S. Ramaswamy, Renwick C. J. Dobson and Rosmarie Friemann. "A GFP-based approach to optimize expression and purification of SiaT sialic acid transporters for structure determination". Manuscript, (2018)

Paper II: Weixiao Y. Wahlgren*, Elin Dunevall*, Rachel A. North*, Aviv Paz, Mariafrancesca Scalise, Paola Bisignano, Johan Bengtsson-Palme, Parveen Goyal, Elin Claesson, Rhawnie Caing-Carlsson, Rebecka Andersson, Konstantinos Beis, Ulf J. Nilsson, Anne Farewell, Lorena Pochini, Cesare Indiveri, Michael Grabe, Renwick C. J. Dobson, Jeff Abramson, S. Ramaswamy and Rosmarie Friemann. *These authors contributed equally. "Substrate-bound outward-open structure of a Na+-coupled sialic acid symporter reveals a new Na+ site" Nature Communications (2018) 9:1753

Paper III: Rachel A. North, Weixiao Y. Wahlgren, Daniela M. Remus, Mariafrancesca Scalise, Sarah A. Kessans, Elin Dunevall, Elin Claesson, Tatiana P. Soares da Costa, Matthew A. Perugini, S. Ramaswamy, Jane R. Allison, Cesare Indiveri, Rosmarie Friemann and Renwick C. J. Dobson. "The sodium sialic acid symporter from Staphylococcus aureus has altered substrate specificity". Frontiers in Chemistry (2018) 6:233

Paper IV: Rhawnie Caing-Carlsson, Parveen Goyal, Weixiao Y. Wahlgren, Elin Dunevall, S. Ramaswamy and Rosmarie Friemann. "Expression, purification and crystallization of a sialic acid tripartite ATP-independent periplasmic (TRAP) transporter". Manuscript, (2018)

Paper V: Jenny Hering, Elin Dunevall, Margareta Ek and Gisela Brändén. "Structural basis for selective inhibition of antibacterial target MraY, a membrane-bound enzyme involved in peptidoglycan synthesis". Drug Discovery Today (2018) vol. 23, no. 7, pp. 1426-1435

Paper VI: Jenny Hering*, Elin Dunevall*, Arjan Snijder, Michael A. Jackson, Trina M. Hartman, Neil P. J. Price, Gisela Brändén and Margareta Ek. *These authors contributed equally. "Inhibition of antibacterial target MraY by modified tunicamycins". Manuscript, (2018)
Date of Defence: 2019-02-01
Disputation: Fredagen den 1 februari 2019, kl 10:00, Hörsal Karl Isaksson, Medicinaregatan 16
Degree: Doctor of Philosophy
Publication type: Doctoral thesis
Keywords: Sialic acid transporters
Antibiotic resistance
Abstract: Antibiotic resistance is a world-wide occurring problem which threatens human health. Without development of any new and effective antibiotics, the rapid growth of antibiotic-resistant bacterial infections could put society in a situation resembling the pre-antibiotic era when a simple lung infection could kill a human being. This thesis presents two venues for targeting antibiotic resistance. Pathogenic bacteria present in mucus rich environments are able to utilize host-derived sialic acid ei... more
ISBN: 978-91-7833-292-2 (Tryckt)
978-91-7833-293-9 (PDF)
Appears in Collections:Doctoral Theses from University of Gothenburg / Doktorsavhandlingar från Göteborgs universitet
Doctoral Theses / Doktorsavhandlingar Institutionen för kemi och molekylärbiologi



© Göteborgs universitet 2011